West Down Wheelers

Cycling Club

Wilkinson Wins !  03 June '08.

PAUL Wilkinson won the Steven Savage Memorial Shield when he claimed victory in the Whirline West Down Wheelers 20 mile time trial on the Castlewellan Road last Tuesday night.
He set a time of 46.56 which is a club record for the distance.

Runner-up was Peter Savage with another fine ride. His time of 49.30 was a great effort. Peter is one of the fittest men in the town of Banbridge having competed in duathlons this season with great success.

Third place went to another club sensation, Paul McManus, who has great potential to go places. In his first 20 mile time trial he had a fine time of 51.31.

Fourth place went to Robin Loughlin who is always a good supporter of the Wheelers races. His time was 52.27.

In fifth place was Clive Adamson who was also pleased with his time of 52.42. Sixth position went to David Cartmill with 54.34 and completing the field was Mervyn Cantley with a good time of 55.36.

Best Event Yet For Wheelers ! 08 July '08.

THE Whirline West Down Wheelers Austrailian Pursuit on Tuesday July 8 was the best handicapped of the lot and it was also the best event with the whole field coming together two miles from the finish.
First off was John Kernaghan and Mark Alexander who had an allowance of seven minutes from Davy Cartmill, Mervyn Cantley, Clive Adamson and Paul McManus.
At another two minutes were Aaron Baines, Peter Lilley, Davy McKnight, Darren Weir with Paul Wilkinson and Ronnie Smith a further two minutes back.
Overall the handicap was 10 minutes and as the riders sped off it was going to be a fast pace. At the Farmer's Co-op, Rathfriland, Kernaghan and Alexander were well out in front.
At this point groups two and three were coming together with with the two scratchmen closing in. Round by McBride's Corner and into
Katesbridge all the groups had come together with 10 riders going all out with the two leaders well out in front and with the bunch still
setting a fast pace.
At the Corbet Straight the leaders, Kernaghan and Alexander, were caught and due to the fast pace of the race. Cantley, Lilley and Cartmill dropped off the back of the bunch mostly due to to cramp.
This left nine riders to contest the finish and with two miles left it
was a tremendous pace at the finish. Darren Weir took the victory from Ronnie Smith with Paul Wilkinson. Aaron Baines was fourth with Clive Adamson fifth, John Kernaghan was sixth, Paul McManus seventh, Mark Alexander eighth, Davy McKnight ninth, Mervyn Cantley 10th, Davy Cartmill 11th, Peter Lilley 12th.
This was the final race in the Australian Pursuits and the overall
winner of the John Maxwell Memorial Trophy is Ricky Johnston who didn't ride the final event but with a win in the first event and a fourth in the second event this was good enough to give him the victory and win this magnificent trophy.

Surprise as Lilley Takes W.D.W Win 24 June '08.

The Whirline West Down Wheelers held the second road race last Tuesday night over a new course as the original course had traffic lights, forcing a change in the circuit.
They started out at the Lisnasure Road and went via Donacloney to
Blackskull and then onto the Lurgan/Dromore Road.
First away were John Kernaghan and Mark Alexander who had five minutes over the next group.
Clive Adamson, Paul McManus, Aaron Baines, Peter Lilley, Mervyn Cantley and Ricky Johnston were followed by the three scratchmen, Paul Wilkinson, Davy McKnight and Ronnie Smyth.
The race started at a fast pace and the two leaders, Mark Alexander and John Kernaghan were being hauled in by the second group of six as the riders were going on to the fourth and final circuit it was looking like the field would all come together on the Blackskull Road, which they did.
However, the group then split again and Paul Wilkinson, Ronnie Smyth, Davy McKnight and surprise packet Peter Lilley went with them and at the finish it was young Peter Lilley who took the chequered flag ahead of Paul Wilkinson, Ronnie Smyth, Davy McKnight, Paul McManus, Ricky Johnston, Clive Adamson, Aaron Baines, Mervyn Cantley, John Kernaghan and Mark Alexander.